Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Isolation without extended family

Hi everybody!
    I'm a student in my final year at high school in Sydney-Australia and for one of my subjects i'm doing an independant research project and i would like your views on this issue, my hypothesis is:

Indian families living in Australia feel isolated without their extended family

If you could give me your views and tell me if you have any family members overseas and how you feel without them and when do they visit you?

Thanks a lot!

yes, one feels isolated, because Australia seems to be all on its own. like there is a big space between you and the asians.it is somewhat like hawaii where they have their own world of theirs. as i live far from my country, i feel like i need my extende family too. it is natural to miss the family members and relatives when far from them. and how about the number of indians present there? if there are many of them there then indians might feel at home and socialize themselves that they wouldn't feel the need to have their extended family with them. and also if transportation is difficult to reach india then they would feel that their family have to come there.
    miqsh
    EVERY CLOUD HAS A SILVER LINING

Comment

i rather feel guilty at times..........u see when our parents want us to be with them we r here away from them..........i would have been much happier being with them but there r certain things that can't be helped.

Comment

Good luck with research

Hi sehrish2cherish
        i m in australia n living with my nuclear family alone for the past 2 years here.I m away from my extended family(including parents and siblings)

U know living here makes me feel that i m wasting my life n time here.i really miss my family,friends,culture,community,religion,country. When i was in India i never realised the importance of family n relatives which i do now b'coz i have no one around.no b'days to go to,no marriages to attend.