Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Intercaste Marriages

Hello everyone,

I'm new member on this site. The name attracted me to this site.
    I'm a reaserach student performing the research on the Indian caste system.
    As a part of the study, i m here o explore the effect of caste system on marriage
    institution in India becasue in the modern india, the families are rigid when it comes
    to marriage out of caste. Around us we see couples where
    - Girl is from high caste and boy from low caste like (SC/ST/OBC).
    - Boy from high class and the girl from low caste like (SC/ST/OBC).
    - Brahmin and non-brahmin
    - InterRegion couples.

I would like to welcome comments mainly on 1) & 2). Hey guys if you have seen such couples who break these barriers of this caste system & got married, please mention. Any comments on the troubles, criticism, and difficulties in pyrsuing a normal lifestyle ??

Soni

Some of the problems regarding the caste system would have mellowed down because of the general progress of the society. But due to the reservation we are constantly forced to remember the caste of other persons. What soever the Govt. may claim the fact is that it is constantly asking about the caste of the people.
    So Intercaste marriage would have perhaps become the norm rather than abstraction.
    Don’t worry, Be happy

Comment

Hi Puneet,

Thanks for your reply.

Yes you are right. Its very unfortunate that India is progressing only superficially.
      But deep down the mentality is almost same. Even in the educated families, the caste
      system creates havoc when it comes to intercaste marriage chosen by a child/sibling.
      I got to talk an aquintance of mine. She is in a deadlock situtaion created by this caste system.