X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does fair equal lovely??

Hey guys
    Hey all
    I'm a year 12 student from Australia, doing my major work on the whole fair skin obsession that seems to pervade indian society. Im basically trying to get opinions from people living in India, and compare them with opinions from Indians living in Australia on this issue, and so then I would be able to find out just how much your cultural background influences your perception of physical beauty.

Any opinions, personal experiences or insights into this will be really really appreciated, as I could use it as my primary research.

Also, I need to have all these surveys filled out by people from India and Australia, so if any of you had the time to visit the site

that would be great as well

Also, if you want to view the other discussion on this issue Ive started for a few discussion topics, please visit

Blogger is a blog publishing tool from Google for easily sharing your thoughts with the world. Blogger makes it simple to post text, photos and video onto your personal or team blog.

and feel free to add a comment.

Thanks heaps!

Just some discussion topics--

Is one's ideals of beauty (i.e. the ideal skin complexion) shaped by the power structure, or the values of their society? For example, in India darkness is equated with the labourer classes, and perhaps its history of British colonialism and Aryan rulers has contributed to the perception of fair skin as superior. In Western Countries, such as Australia, being tanned is associated with lesuire, a healthy outbdoor life, etc. and fair skin may be seen as a sign of an unhealthy indoor life, or is perhaps associated with the snobbish upper classes.

Perhaps the obsession with fair skin in Indians could stem from a shame of their cultural identity? Are they trying to emulate the white cultures because they deem theirs to be inferior?